A legal team with proven results


Matt Kindree


Contact Information

tel: 416-304-6524
fax: 416-362-8410

Bar Admission




Areas of Expertise

Corporate and Finance
Mergers and Acquisitions
Secured and Unsecured Lending
Business Structuring and Corporate Reorganizations
Not-for-Profit and Charity Law
Commercial Leasing
Bank Regulatory
Commercial Agreements

Matthew Kindree is the head of the Corporate and Finance Practice Group of Brauti Thorning Zibarras LLP. Prior to joining the Firm, Matt was a Partner at one of the world's largest international law firms. Matt is one of twenty-five lawyers designated by the Law Society of Upper Canada as a specialist in corporate and commercial law, and has also been designated as a specialist in Corporate Finance by the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada.

Matt practices and has extensive expertise in the areas of banking and finance, financial services, mergers and acquisitions, private equity, and corporate reorganizations and restructurings. He advises domestic and international clients on a wide range of corporate and transactional matters, including mergers, acquisitions, divestitures and reorganizations. His practice also includes representing clients in secured and unsecured lending transactions, as well as counseling start-up and foreign enterprises on general business, corporate finance and regulatory matters.

Matt has sat on the Executive Committee of the Ontario Bar Association (Business Law Section), and has chaired and presented at numerous seminars and conferences, including MBA in a Day for Transactional Lawyers, Secured Transaction Essentials for Business Lawyers, Professionalism Issues for Business Lawyers, Annotated Commercial Agreements, Commercial Agreements Bootcamp, and Structural Elements of M&A Transactions. He has written several articles on banking and finance and Canadian corporate law matters.

A graduate of the University of Western Ontario (LL.B.), Matt is a recipient of the Law Society of Upper Canada Prize for academic excellence and the Gretta J. Grant Prize for outstanding community legal service.